ATA Board

The Alternative Technology Association is governed by a volunteer Board of Management according to the Rules of the Associations Incorporation Act 1981 (Victoria).

Helen Millicer
Helen has more than 20 years’ experience on boards and in senior roles and consulting in environment and sustainability. Consulting clients include the Australian and state/territory governments, peak industry bodies and private companies. She is also currently the recycling industry strategy manager for the Vinyl Council of Australia, a member of the Expert Panel for the Victorian Government’s New Energy Jobs Fund and advisor to the UN Global Cities Compact. Helen has a BA, Post-Grad Diploma in Business Management and Certificate in Carbon Accounting, and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She was appointed to the ATA Board in 2013 and president in 2015.

John Bailey 
John has proven experience in senior management in Australia and overseas. He has strong understanding of strategic management, problem solving, financial analysis and team building. John is currently an executive officer in the Victorian Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources and prior to this position was the managing director of Standard and Poor’s operations in Australia and New Zealand. John is a strong believer in renewables and energy efficiency and recently built his own sustainable house. He has a Bachelor of Arts (economics) and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance. John was appointed to the ATA Board in October 2012.

Russell Anderson 
Russell has extensive experience in financial management, governance, risk management and sustainability gained from senior governance roles at Air New Zealand, Marsh Pty Ltd, CSIRO, PricewaterhouseCoopers and the Qantas Group. He is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and Governance Institute of Australia and currently serves as a director of Melbourne Water. Russell is actively involved in ensuring sustainability principles are adopted in corporate governance frameworks in the public and private sectors. Russell was appointed to the ATA Board in 2013.

Louisa Scott
Louisa has extensive experience in funding for medium and large companies, having worked in institutional banking for more than 20 years in Australia and Europe. She has a background in relationship management, investment analysis and risk management. Louisa is the immediate past treasurer and director of the Hawthorn Early Years childcare centre and holds a Bachelor of Commerce and Bachelor of Arts and MBA from Melbourne University. A graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, she is completing a Certificate in Treasury from the Association of Corporate Treasurers (UK). Louisa joined the ATA Board in 2016.

Gerlinde Scholz
Gerlinde is a not-for-profit sector specialist with experience at board and senior executive level in community services, medical research and higher education. She started her career as an external relations professional at the University of Melbourne in fundraising, stakeholder relations management, communications and international marketing. More recently she was general manager of a specialist medical research institute. Gerlinde currently chairs the Board of FMC Relationship Services, a not-for-profit social service organisation. She holds a Masters degree in history and has completed an executive program for non-profit leaders at Stanford University. Gerlinde joined the ATA Board in 2015.

Grant Downie
Grant has served as manager and director in a number of companies. As owner and managing director of his own business, he has worked across most business functions, including strategy and internal audit, and brings this broad perspective to governance and advisory roles. As an environmentally sensitive engineer, Grant is conscious of managing his own impact and the broader human impact on our planet. He has an MBA from Mt Eliza/ Melbourne Business School, a B Eng from the University of Melbourne, is a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and a professional member of the Australian Human Resources Institute. Grant joined the ATA Board in 2015.

Simon Molesworth
Simon is a barrister with 21 years’ experience as Queens Counsel (QC) and recognised internationally as a leader in environmental law. Since 2013 he has been a Vice Chancellor’s Professorial Fellow at Monash University and previously appointed Adjunct Professor of La Trobe University’s Institute for Social & Environmental Sustainability. Simon was a founder of what became the Environment Institute of Australia and a Commissioner of the Commonwealth’s Australian Heritage Commission. In 2012 he was made an Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to conservation, heritage, the professions and natural resource sectors, and to community health organisations. Simon was appointed to the ATA Board in 2016.

Tristy Fairfield
Tristy is a renewable energy, climate change and sustainability professional with over 15 years’ policy, strategy and project experience across corporate, government and not-for-profit sectors. Her track record of introducing environmental and energy transformational projects has been developed through senior policy, strategy and project delivery roles for a diverse range of organisations including Friends of the Earth, Fortescue Metals Group, Western Power, Synergy and Carnegie Clean Energy. Tristy holds a Bachelor of Commerce, a Master of Science (Renewable Energy) and is currently completing a Graduate Diploma in Corporate Governance. She was a finalist in the 2017 Western Australian Energy Professional of the Year awards.

Dominique La Fontaine
Dominique has worked in the sustainability and socio-economic development areas for three decades as a CEO of not-for-profit organisations and senior executive in the corporate sector. She brings expertise in government relations, public policy, corporate affairs, stakeholder and community engagement, strategic and crisis communications, media relations and reputation management. Dominique is currently executive officer of the South East Councils Climate Change Alliance. She holds a Bachelor of Applied Science in Environmental Assessment and Land Use Policy and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Mark Bytheway
Mark has more than 25 years’ experience and research in capital markets, including work in investment banking and strategic planning with the ANZ Banking Group and funds management for an international investment management group. Mark holds qualifications in law, economics and accounting, and post-graduate qualifications in environmental science. After completing his Masters, Mark spent three years consulting in the areas of environmental risk analysis, environmental liability evaluation and resource valuation before starting the Sustainable Investment Research Institute. Mark was a founding member of the UNEP Australasian SRI Advisory Committee and a former Trustee of the OXFAM CAA Ethical Investment Trust.

Caroline Pidcock
Caroline Pidcock is passionate about the importance of architecture and integrative design. Her Pidcock architecture practice has been inspired by the possibilities of creating desirable places that demonstrate how the many issues that are fundamental to sustainability can be potent and profound influences. Her interest and experience in sustainable built environments has been developed and enhanced through her involvement in a diverse range of professional, academic and community commitments. After 25 years of running her own residential practice she is focusing on how to strategically accelerate the uptake of sustainable ideas.